Notes to self: merging my fork with upstream

It’s supposed to be as natural as breathing, right?  See a neat repository on Github, decide you want to use the code and make some minor changes to it right?  So you fork the sucker, commit some change, maybe push a PR back to the original repo?

Then, you want to keep your repo around – I dunno, maybe it’s for vanity, or maybe you’re continuing to make changes or use the project (and maybe, just maybe, you’ll find yourself wanting to push another PR in the future?).  Or maybe messages like this just bother your OCD:

github-branch-is-xx-commits-behind

Eventually, most developers will run into a situation in which they wish to re-sync their forked version of a project with the updates that have been made in “upstream”.

Should be dead easy, yes?  People are doing this all the time, yes?  Well, crap.  If that’s the case, then I’m an idiot because I’d tried this a half-dozen times and never before arrived at the beautiful message “This branch is even with…”.  So I figured I’d write it out (talk to the duck), and in so doing stumble on the solution.

GitHub help is supposed to help, e.g. Syncing a fork.  Which depends on Configuring a remote for a fork, and which is followed by Pushing to a remote.

Which for a foreign repo named e.g. “hackers/hackit” means the following stream of commands (after I’ve Forked the repo in GitHub.com and git clone‘d the repo on my local machine):

git remote add upstream git@github.com:hackers/hackit.git
git fetch upstream
git checkout master
git merge upstream/master

That last command will often result in a bunch of conflicts, if you’ve made any changes, e.g.:

git merge upstream/master
Auto-merging package.json
CONFLICT (content): Merge conflict in package.json
Auto-merging README.md
Auto-merging .travis.yml
CONFLICT (content): Merge conflict in .travis.yml
Auto-merging .babelrc
Automatic merge failed; fix conflicts and then commit the result.

At this point I temporarily abandon the command line and dive into my favourite editor (Visual Studio Code with a handful of extensions) to resolve the conflicting files.

Once I’d merged changes from both sources (mine and upstream), then it was a simple matter of the usual commands:

git add .
git commit -m "merged changes from upstream"
git push

And the result is…

github-branch-is-xx-commits-ahead

(No it wasn’t quite the “even” paradise, but I’ll take it.)

Aside

I somehow got myself into a state where I couldn’t get the normal commands to work.  For example, when I ran git push origin master, I get nowhere:

git push origin master
fatal: 'origin' does not appear to be a git repository
fatal: Could not read from remote repository.
Please make sure you have the correct access rights
and the repository exists.

Or git push:

git push
ERROR: Permission to hackers/hackit.git denied to MikeTheCanuck.
fatal: Could not read from remote repository.
Please make sure you have the correct access rights
and the repository exists.

Then when I added upstream…:

git remote add upstream git@github.com:hackers/hackit.git

…and ran git remote -v…:

git remote -v
upstream git@github.com:hackers/hackit.git (fetch)
upstream git@github.com:hackers/hackit.git (push)

…it appears I no longer had a reference to origin. (No idea how that happened, but hopefully these notes will help me not go astray again.)  Adding back the reference to origin seemed the most likely solution, but I didn’t get the kind of results I wanted:

git remote add origin git@github.com:mikethecanuck/hackit.git
git remote -v
origin git@github.com:mikethecanuck/hackit.git (fetch)
origin git@github.com:mikethecanuck/hackit.git (push)
upstream git@github.com:hackers/hackit.git (fetch)
upstream git@github.com:hackers/hackit.git (push)
git push origin master
To github.com:mikethecanuck/hackit.git
 ! [rejected]        master -> master (fetch first)
error: failed to push some refs to 'git@github.com:mikethecanuck/hackit.git'
hint: Updates were rejected because the remote contains work that you do
hint: not have locally. This is usually caused by another repository pushing
hint: to the same ref. You may want to first integrate the remote changes
hint: (e.g., 'git pull ...') before pushing again.
hint: See the 'Note about fast-forwards' in 'git push --help' for details.

 

And when I pushed with no params, I went right back to the starting place:

git push
ERROR: Permission to hackers/hackit.git denied to MikeTheCanuck.
fatal: Could not read from remote repository.
Please make sure you have the correct access rights
and the repository exists.

(I finally rm -rf‘d my forked repo, cloned it again, and started over – that’s how I got to the first part of the article.)

Leave a Reply

