Update my Contacts with Python: using pyobjc, Contacts.app & vCards, Swift or my own two hands?

I’m still on a mission to update my iCloud Contacts using PyiCloud to consolidate the data I’ve retrieved from LinkedIn.  Last time I convinced myself to add an update_contact() function to a fork of PyiCloud’s contacts module, and so far I haven’t had any nibbles on the issue I’ve filed in the PyiCloud project a couple of days ago.

I was looking further at the one possibly-working pattern in the PyiCloud project that appears to implement a write back to the iCloud APIs: the reminders module with its post() method.  What’s interesting to me is that in that method, the JSON submitted in the data parameter includes the key:value pair “etag”: None.  I gnashed my teeth over how to construct a valid etag in my last post, and this code implies to me (assuming it’s still valid and working against the Reminders API) that the etag value is optional (well, the key must be specified, but the complicated value may not be needed).

Knowing that this sounds too easy, I watched a new Reminder getting created through the icloud.com web client, and sure enough Chrome Dev Tools shows me that in the Request Payload, etag is set to null.  Which really tells me nothing now about the requirement for the Contacts API…

Arrested Development

Knowing that this was going to be a painful brick wall to climb, I decided to pair up with a python expert to look for ways to dig out from this deep, dark hole.  Lucky me, I have a good relationship with the instructor from my python class from late last year.  We talked about where I am stuck and what he’d recommend I do to try to break through this issue.

His thinking?  He immediately abandoned the notion of deciphering an undocumented API and went looking around the web for docs and alternatives.  Turns out there are a couple of options:

  1. Apple has in its SDKs a Contacts framework that supports Swift and Objective-C
  2. There are many implementations of Python & other languages that access the MacOS Contacts application (Contacts.app)

Contacts via Objective-C on MacOS

  • Contacts Framework is available in XCode
  • There appears to be a bidirectional bridge between Python and Objective-C
  • There is further a wrapper for the Contacts framework (which gets installed when you run pip install pyobjc)
  • But sadly, there is nothing even resembling a starter kit example script for instantiating and using the Contacts framework wrapper

Contacts via Contacts.app on MacOS

  • We found a decent-looking project (VObject) that purports to access VCard files, which is the underlying  data layout for import/export from Contacts.app
  • And another long-lived project (vcard) for validating VCards
  • This means I would have to manually import VCard file(s) into Contacts.app, and would still have to figure out how Contacts.app knows how to match/overwrite an imported Contact with an existing Contact (or I’ll always be backing up, deleting and importing)
  • HOWEVER, in exploring the content of the my Contacts.app and comparing to what I have in my iPhone Contacts, there’s definitely something extra going on here
    • I have at least one contact displayed in Contacts.app who is neither listed in my iPhone/iCloud contacts nor Google Contacts – given the well-formed LinkedIn data in the contact record, I’m guessing this is being implicitly included via Internet Accounts (the LinkedIn account configured here):
      screenshot-2017-01-06-09-45-24
    • What would happen if I imported a vCard with the same UID (the iCloud UUID)?
    • What would happen if I imported a vCard that exists in both iCloud and LinkedIn – would the iCloud (U)UID correctly match and merge the vCard to the right contact, or would we get a duplicate?
  • Here at least I see others acknowledge that it’s possible to create non-standard types for ADR, TEL (and presumably email and URL types, if they’re different).
  • Watch out: if you have any non-ASCII characters in your Address Book, exporting will generate the output as UTF-16.
  • Watch out: here’s a VObject gotcha.

Crazy Talk: Swift?

  • I *could* go learn enough Swift to interface with the JSON data I construct in Python
  • There’s certainly a plethora of articles (iOS-focused) and tutorials to help folks use the Contacts framework via Swift – which all seem to assume you want to build a UI app (not just a script) – I guess I understand the bias, but boy do I feel left out just wanting to create a one-time-use script to make sure I don’t fat-finger something and lose precious data (my wetware memory is lossy enough as it is)

Conclusion: Park it for now

What started out as a finite-looking piece of work to pull LinkedIn data into my current contacts of record, turned into a never-ending series of questions, murky code pathfinding  and band-aiding multiple technologies together to do something that should ostensibly be fairly straightforward.

Given that the best options I have at this point are (a) reverse-engineer an undocumented Apple API, (b) try to leverage an Objective-C bridge that *no one* else has tried to use for this new Contacts framework, or (c) decipher how Contacts.app interacts in the presence of vCards and all the interlocking contacts services (iCloud, Google, LinkedIn, Facebook)…I’m going to step away from this for a bit, let my brain tease apart what I’m willing to do for fun and how much more effort I’m willing to put in for fun/”the community”, and whether I’ve crossed The Line for a one-time effort and should just manually enter the data myself.

Leave a Reply

