Anticipation

Contemplating the question of whether I’m ready for my new job as an annointed (annoying? the words sound so similar…) Product Manager at New Relic.

iu-2

Excited, yes! This is going to be a learning opportunity without compare, and tons of opportunity to get to know a whole new set of customers.  The amount of stuff I don’t know is huge – I know a lot of stuff on which I’ll build, and I’m a super-sponge for the customer needs, the way their tech works, and what’s really important to everyone – and there’s plenty of opportunity to live that dream.

Nervous? Hells yeah. Those customers could be very demanding; the engineers might find me wanting; the technology is terribly complex and I worry if there are things I’ll just never get.  Worst case, they’ll encounter me as one of “those people” – the folks who don’t understand the technology, are talking out their ass, and end up misrepresenting the way it really works or how long it could really take to deliver a new feature.iu-3

Ready to start working?  Um.  YES.  I’ve been getting more and more anxious about all the what-ifs, the ways I might embarrass myself and how many ways I want to help out and make good stuff happen.  I thought the time off between jobs would be helpful to get my mind at ease and clear of the old world; clear was easy, but ‘at ease’ was apparently not in my playbook.

See you on the other side!iu

Leave a Reply

