I have trouble following long-lived storylines in multiple graphic novels

Saw this review (***Hope on Goodreads) of Chew vol 4, couldn’t agree more:

“The same thing happens every time I get past the 2nd or third book in a graphic novel series – I forget what has come before, and get confused about what is going on. Sometimes it is me, sometimes it is that the authors left things vague. That happened with this one. Since when does Tony have a daughter? Did we meet her before? And a sister at NASA? Eh.”

I thought I was the only person with this problem. I actually went so far as to borrow vol 1 from the library when I got vol 4, just so I could piece *some* of it back together. And then read all the spoiler-y reviews of vol 2&3. It definitely helped, though I was also confused about the sister & daughter. Someday I’m going to buy a selectively photographic memory.

One thought on “I have trouble following long-lived storylines in multiple graphic novels

Leave a Reply

