Review: Jinx

Jinx
Jinx by Brian Michael Bendis
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I picked this up at a book signing by Bendis last week. I haven’t read it in years and years, and I’ve read so much of Bendis since that time, I wasn’t sure how this would hold up.

As indie comics go, this is a winner. It’s amazing how much of Bendis’ talent for dialogue was already there in the beginning, and how well he tuned into that talent and focused on it. I’m also impressed by the art renderings – I totally forgot that Bendis used to do the art for his books, and I would’ve encouraged him to keep up this side of it (there’s much worse from non-writing artists out there, believe me), had his career not taken off so much as a writer.

The story is pretty thin – just a few set pieces in which to let his characters breathe – but there’s three more books’ worth of plot after this too, so it’s hard to judge the full merits of this fraction of the story arc (and I don’t remember the rest of the storyline so I won’t embarrass myself by guessing at it).

Most of all, this reminds me why I like Bendis’ work so much – he tunes in closely to how people act around each other, and what happens when unusually unlike personalities synthesize into something unlike either of them.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

