ComponentChk.cpp – I resolved my first C++ compiler "fatal error"!

Yes, for those of you with even more grey in your beard/hair than I, this is probably a “meh” event.  However, for me, who’s always looked at C++ code and wondered how the H*** anyone could ever make sense of it, this is a big event.  [Patting myself on the back.]

Situation

I’m working on finishing up the Setup bootstrapper for my VSTO add-in Word2MediaWiki.NET.  I’m targeting Word 2003 and Word 2007 (despite Microsoft’s best efforts/worst neglect to the contrary), and I’m trying to achieve what many have done before, but which seemed impossible for me: allow the Setup.exe to detect which version of Word is installed, and then conditionally install the prerequisite software (i.e. the so-called Office PIAs) for whichever version of Word is discovered.

Problem 1: most folks in the VSTO space seem to think that, despite the fact that a version of the .NET framework is required to support VSTO, the Setup.exe that goes with your VSTO add-in install package should use UNmanaged code to detect whether the pre-requisites are installed.

Problem 2: I know squat about writing unmanaged code.

Problem 3: Microsoft’s VSTO & Office teams left it up as an exercise to the VSTO app developer to figure out how to assemble the amazing number of parts necessary to make a VSTO install work transparently to the end user.

Problem 4: There’ve been many articles written posthumously (I mean, long after VSTO v2 was released) on various aspects of automating VSTO-add-in installation, but none of them addressed the very inevitable scenario where the app developer needs to support both Word 2003 and Word 2007.  [Don’t even *think* about pre-2003 versions of Office — you’d have to be clinically insane.]

Manna from heaven

One ridiculously brave soul, Mark Hogan, actually took the time to not only figure out how to build such a conditional pre-requisite detection app in C++, but he was so overcome with glee that he beat Microsoft at something even they were too scared to do, that he published the full set of source code and XML configuration files for the entire world to use.

Now, masochist that I am, I took it upon myself to try to integrate the code that Mark Hogan published into the existing code that I’d already slotted into my Office PIA bootstrapper files.  However, I didn’t anticipate the foreseeable result that, because I’m coding this stuff in my spare time, and usually late at night, I would (a) not finish the integration work in one sitting, (b) forget what I’d originally set out to do and (c) forget to integrate any of the critical code that actually performed the conditional logic.

Mike chases his tail

Miraculously, I was left with a .CPP file that would compile and that appeared to be significantly different from the original file I started from, and that threw off an error code that created a spectacular wild goose-chase:

“Unable to satisfy all prerequisites for Word2MediaWikiDotNET.  Setup cannot continue until all system components have been successfully installed.”

Details:

“Prerequisite check for system component Microsoft Office 2003/2007 Primary Interop Assemblies (Word Only) failed.

See the setup log file located at ‘C:\DOCUME~1\msmithlo\LOCALS~1\Temp\VSD33.tmp\install.log’ for more information.”

And in the INSTALL.LOG file was the illusory answer:

Running external check with command ‘C:\DOCUME~1\msmithlo\LOCALS~1\Temp\VSD33.tmp\Office2003PIAor2007_WordOnly\ComponentChk.exe’ and parameters ‘/delete /save /word {1EBDE4BC-9A51-4630-B541-2561FA45CCC5}’

“Process exited with code 1607”

Setting value ‘1607 {int}’ for property ‘SupportedWordVersionInstalled’

Setting value ‘1607 {int}’ for property ‘PIAsRegistered’

This led me down the path of chasing InstallShield errors, since the only Google search results that looked at all related were things like these.  After a few days of trying to figure out how the InstallShield scripting engine could be related to a Visual Studio SETUP.EXE or custom C++ application, I finally got my brain back and tried to isolate where in the code or configuration files the problem existed.  That led me to a line of C++ code that threw ERROR_UNKNOWN_COMPONENT, which as it turns out also shares the 1607 error/exit value.

[The whole gruesome story is illustrated in the Bug I filed to myself here.]

Back to the original goal, with a new mission

Once I realized what I’d left out of the C++ code, I quickly got it to the point where I could try compiling it.  Now a new mission emerged – how to debug a C++ compiler error?

C:\>cl.exe /Oxs /MT /GS ComponentChk.cpp advapi32.lib
Microsoft (R) 32-bit C/C++ Optimizing Compiler Version 15.00.21022.08 for 80×86
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

ComponentChk.cpp
Microsoft (R) Incremental Linker Version 9.00.21022.08
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

/out:ComponentChk.exe
ComponentChk.obj
advapi32.lib
ComponentChk.obj : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol __imp__WaitForInputIdle@8 referenced in function “int __cdecl MyStart(char const *,char const *)” (?MyStart@@YAHPBD0@Z)
ComponentChk.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals

That command line (cl.exe /Oxs /MT /GS ComponentChk.cpp advapi32.lib) was derived from the original article from which we were all working (or stumbling around half-blindly, it felt to me).  I just ran this without a second thought, assuming that since Mark Hogan didn’t seem to mention any modifications to it, any errors it showed must’ve been my fault.

Where is “__imp__WaitForInputIdle@8” I wondered?  It didn’t show up in the source code when I searched for it, and nor did “int __cdecl MyStart“.

After staring at this for a while longer, I figured some substring searches would work, which after a few attempts finally showed me that I was actually looking for the code

WaitForInputIdle(pi.hProcess, INFINITE);

which is called in the function MyStart().  I tried some silly things first, of course, but I eventually realized that if WaitForInputIdle() didn’t exist as a named function in the source code, perhaps it existed in another library that wasn’t yet connected to the code?  A quick MSDN Library search told me this function was actually part of USER32.DLL, and it wasn’t too painful a leap of logic to try adding USER32.LIB to the compilation parameters, like so:

cl.exe /Oxs /MT /GS ComponentChk.cpp advapi32.lib user32.lib

And when I loaded up the now-successfully-compiled COMPONENTCHK.EXE into DEPENDS.EXE, it confirmed exactly what I expected to see:

image

Mark, many thanks to you, and my apologies for calling into question your mad C++ skillz.

One thought on “ComponentChk.cpp – I resolved my first C++ compiler "fatal error"!

Leave a Reply

