MindManager 7 "ToDo List" Add-in development Part 2: Adventures in Add-in Installation

MindManager 7 provides the ability (through the MindManager options menu) to inspect and enable/disable already-installed add-ins.  However, it’s not clear from the UI nor Help file how to install an add-in for MindManager.  The DevZone article indicates that once I’ve built the assembly it should be installed in MM7 automatically, but I’ve built it many times and it definitely doesn’t show up in the listed add-ins in MindManager:

If the code compiled successfully, your add-in DLL was created and registered with MindManager. At this point, you are ready to test your new add-in.

I’d posted a couple of requests to the MM7 developer user forum and that’ll probably give me some clues, but in the meantime I happened to find this blog article (Creating a MindManager 7 Add-in Sample) from last summer, and spotted this gem:

“Probably the most useful thing the wizard does is create a Setup project that carries the Windows Registry settings needed to let the MindManager application locate the Add-in component at load-time.  These settings are used by MindManager to discover and load selected Add-in components.  If they are wrong, your Add-in never makes  it onto the available Add-ins list.”

[That sharp sound you heard was my hand hitting my forehead]  Duh, indeed.

Registry Settings Are the “Key”

It appears that the critical piece of info I hadn’t found in the documentation (MM7 Help file, DevZone walkthrough) was the existence of the Registry Key HKLM\Software\Mindjet\MindManager\7\Addins\.  The add-in downloadable from the “Sample” blog article creates the following in that Addins key:

  • Key = MmxSample.Connect [i.e. the ProgID for the add-in]
    • Value: FriendlyName (REG_SZ) = Pandimonium[sic] Productions Mmx Sample Add-in
    • Value: LoadBehavior (REG_DWORD) = 2
    • Value: Description (REG_SZ) = A sample MindManager Add-In to dump map contents

As well (though I wonder if this is optional — at least while developing the add-in), the Setup project creates the following entries under HKCR (HKEY_Classes_Root):

  • Key = MmxSample.Connect
    • Key = CLSID
      • Value: (Default) (REG_SZ) = {925b5786-bf6f-4ac5-9df1-61ee50a815ca}
    • Value: (Default) (REG_SZ) = MmxSample.Connect

Since these Registry values are static, it appears that MindManager enumerates the keys under \Addins at each startup.  Therefore, I believe that just building the add-in assembly does not magically make MindManager aware of the add-in you’re developing.

So perhaps I can just populate my Registry settings by hand?  The AddInSetupen.vdproj file for my add-in’s setup project intends to set these values:

  • [\Addins] Key = ParanoidMike.ToDoList.AddIn.1
    • Value: FriendlyName (REG_SZ) = MM7TODOList
    • Value: LoadBehavior (REG_DWORD) = 2
    • Value: Description (REG_SZ) = MM7TODOList|Built by ParanoidMike|Version 1.0.0

Grrr

Oh hell.  I just went back to the DevZone walkthrough article, and the next thing (just beyond the point at which I abandoned the walkthrough) is this page that documents exactly the Registry settings I just unearthed.  Man, this is truly time to let it go for the evening…

One Open Question

My project’s Setup does not currently populate any HKCR settings!  Is this the cause of the “unrecoverable error” when building the Setup project?

MindManager developer resources

These are the various sources of information I’ve stumbled across so far that are useful for me (a budding MindManager add-in developer):

Resources related to Custom Properties

I anticipate leveraging custom Properties in my add-in, so I’ll want to dig into these articles when I get to that point:

One thought on “MindManager 7 "ToDo List" Add-in development Part 2: Adventures in Add-in Installation

  1. Thank-you for your useful and insightful postings. Since Michael Scherotter left MindJet it's been impossible to get any assistance….Now, if you'd just post that 'working” code example somewhere – where I could get at it..

    Like

Leave a Reply

