Questions from a VB.NET amateur on the occasion of my first C# project…

  • Why doesn’t Visual Studio auto-generate the {} when I add an “if (true)” statement/a “foreach ()” statement/a “try” block and hit [Enter]?
  • Why doesn’t Visual Studio automatically clean up the indenting of my code, comments, etc. when I add/remove the { } braces or other things that would affect the layout of the existing code?
  • If these damned curly braces and brackets are so damned important, why aren’t they filled in automatically every chance we get?’
  • Why won’t Visual Studio automatically format the trailing */ characters when I hit Enter (which gives me the next * character + a space) and I type the / character?  VS should be able to handle auto-formatting as simple as that.
Leave a Reply

